Reunion of the 143rd Pennsylvania Infantry, September 11 & 12, 1889
Gettysburg, PA


The exercises connected with the dedication were held September 11 & 12, 1889. The headquarters established for the 143rd was described as "T.S. Wible's House, corner of Washington and High streets, Gettysburg, Pa".

The survivors assembled at 9 A.M., Wednesday, September 11. A little after 10 o'clock the line of march was taken to the spot where the monument stood at " the angle of two roads and in the battle line of the first day's fight... The monument was reached about half-past ten. It was draped with red, white and blue, the bas relief being hidden from view. The wind was blowing a gale and the sky was full of dark, threatening clouds, but no rain fell during the ceremonies".

The monument was designed and built by the Smith Granite Co. of Boston and the figure is that of Ben Crippen, the standard bearer for the 143rd. He was killed in action the first day of engagement. This data was extracted from a small volume issued in conjunction with the dedication of the memorial monument. It was issued some time after the event as it contains the remarks and speeches made at the ceremony.

Click on the image to see a representation of the inscription on the front of the monument.


The inscription on the rear of the monument reads as follows:

"This monument marks right of first position July 1, 1863, facing north, and second position facing west, which the regiment held from 11:30 A.M. until 1st Corps fell back. Last position on Seminary Ridge right resting on railroad cut. July 2d and 3d Regiment was in line on left centre and on the 3d assisted in repulsing the final charge of the enemy."

Present at Gettysburg 465
Killed Officers 1, Men 20
Wounded Officers 11, Men 130
Captured or Missing 91 Men
Total Loss 253

Click on the image to see a representation of the inscription on the rear of the monument.

Click here to read a memorial poem written by E.A. Niven in 1889 especially for the monument dedication.


Tablet Committee Of 143rd Pennsylvania Volunteers
  • Patrick DeLacy, Pres.
  • Major M.L. Blair, Treas.
  • Lieut. W.H. Bennett, Sec'y
  • Gen. Edmund Lovell Dana
  • Col. C.M. Conyngham
  • Lieut. W.F. Rice
  • Col. George N. Reichard
  • Sgt. George Perry
  • Bennett W. Marcy
  • C.H. Sherman
  • Rodger Cox
  • Sgt. Charles C. Kunkel
  • Chas. H. Shotten
  • Ira Harris
  • George W. Engle
  • Sgt. David G. Davis
  • Sgt. J.H. Campbell
  • Capt. H. Gordon
  • Ajt. Charles Campbell
  • John O. Miles
  • Sgt. Henry Bennett
  • Lieut. Orin E. Vaughan
  • Lieut. Max Buskhard
  • Milton Vose
  • Sgt. William Warfel
  • Geo. Detrick
Company Rosters

Company A

  • Not. Slutter
  • Jacob Bonawitz
  • Wm. A. Noll
  • John Vandemak
  • Wm. Everett
  • Samuel Hess
  • David Davis
  • Dwight Wolcott
  • Samuel J. James
  • Michael O'Brien
  • George Barnes
  • Nicholas Warmuth
  • William Laubach
  • Rudolph Fenner
  • Abram N. Ide

Company B

  • Capt. Asher Fell
  • Charles H. Finch
  • Sgt. George Perry
  • John H. Hunter
  • Sam Lingfelter
  • Thaddeus Hunter
  • Alvin Colvin
  • Milo Stone
  • Peter A. Pattend
  • John R. Smith, jr.
  • Sgt. Henry Bennett
  • Jacob H. Smith
  • C.A. Sherman
  • George Simpson
  • William H. Cole
  • George Hall
  • Augustus Atherton
  • Edgar Lindsay

Company C

  • Lieut. Rufus Marcy
  • E.H. Groff
  • Lieut. Max Buskhard
  • Frank Hawnecht
  • Sgt. Charles Gable
  • C.C. Betterly
  • Sgt. James M. Rutter
  • Asa Gardner
  • John Neier
  • William Keating
  • George Deitrick
  • Jacob Lynne
  • George W. Engle
  • Joel Lynne
  • Charles S. Shotten
  • Samuel May
  • Charles D. Hoover
  • Alfred McGuire
  • George W. Keller
  • William W. Reller
  • John E. Hoff

Company D

  • Lt. Wilber F. Rice
  • J.D. Willis
  • P. DeLacy
  • Ira Ransom
  • M.M. Covert
  • Sgt. J.A. Roat
  • Drum-Maj. John C.T. Little
  • L.J. Curtis
  • William F. Rugge
  • John Rood
  • Charles Hoover
  • Sgt. Chester B. Neely
  • C.J. Turpin
  • Nicholas Van Buskirk
  • Aaron Porter
  • A.H. Waring
  • Sgt. Thomas A. Dailey
  • Ezra Wilkinson
  • Thomas Shaw
  • Eldad Turner
  • Bennett Marcy
  • Joshua Swingle
  • Cyrus Rummage
  • William Clapworth
  • Charles Coop

Company E

  • Major M.L. Blair
  • H.V. Bogart
  • Sgt. Charles Russel
  • Lewis Vansickle
  • J.C. Knickerbocker
  • Sgt. W.W. Warfell
  • Samuel Rogers
  • Francis Wheeler
  • Roger Cox
  • George Rodeimer
  • Sgt. William H. Harding
  • Henry Briggs

Company F

  • Capt. H.M. Gordon
  • James W. Rood
  • Ord. Sgt. J.H. Campbell
  • Sgt. Alex. McDaniels
  • Theodore Wolfe
  • Nicholas Vanhorn
  • S.D. Sutliff
  • Singleton M. Goss
  • James R. Dodson
  • J.H. Maize
  • Silas Nevil
  • Jonas C. Tubbs
  • Corp. James Kester
  • Almon W. Rood
  • J.B. Hoppes
  • Jacob W. Titus
  • S.S. Simpson
  • John Rood
  • C.L. Moore
  • Jacob Hoppes
  • S.M. Blanchard
  • Jonas B. Hoppes
  • Adj't C.H. Campbell
  • John M. Culver
  • William Masters
  • Sgt. Stephen Bonhan
  • Sidney Nafus

Company G

  • Capt. Daniel Morton
  • Elijah Robbins
  • Alfred Groff
  • W.S. Randall
  • Sgt. Wm. Schooley
  • William Winters
  • Andrew Hilbert
  • Charles A. Westfield
  • Sgt. Charles D. Kunkle
  • Joseph Hurber
  • John Nash
  • Robert McNeal
  • William Knarr
  • Harvey Taylor

Company H

  • Capt. W.A. Southwell
  • Robert Booth
  • Rev. Asa Warner
  • S.B. Warner
  • C.B. Stranger
  • G.B. Stoninger
  • William Keister
  • Myron Bradshaw
  • J.M. Regan
  • Orange A. Baldwin
  • William H. Denel
  • Walter Jenner
  • C.L. Lincoln
  • Frank Angle
  • Mark B. Perigo

Company I

  • Sgt. John Shaffer
  • W.H. Hostler
  • Albert Earle
  • Ambrose Bonham
  • Philip S. Hartman
  • Benjamin Bellas
  • J.T. Moss
  • Francis M. Lockhart
  • Josiah M. Wolf
  • Joseph Keever
  • William S. Downing
  • George W. Palmer
  • George Jacoby
  • E. Roberts
  • J.H. Gearhart
  • George Ensinger
  • Harrison Wolfe

Company K

  • Capt. Little
  • Henry Maynard
  • Lt. O.E. Vaughn
  • William Russel
  • Samuel Durling
  • Milton L. Vose
  • Alvin Durling
  • Cornelius Blobbitt
  • J.T. Bonno
  • Henry Beebe
  • John Wilber
  • Charles L. Finney
  • Frank Furman
  • Ebenezer S. Fisk
  • Richard Keeney
  • Reuben P. Stroninger
  • William Kees
  • Ephriam Coble
  • Abram Hall
  • Edward Phillips

2015 Officers

Ted Nafus Sr.

Mike Hogan

April Nafus

Scott Mecca

Mike Donahue

Bruce Geiger

Company A Leadership

Ted Nafus Sr.
Provost Marshal

Peter Wolf Cangemi

Jim Hummer
1st Lieutenant

Bruce Geiger
Quartermaster Sgt.

Ted Nafus Jr.
1st Sergeant

Michael Donahue
1st Lieutenant

Jesse Holzman
Senior Private

Union Volunteers Leadership

Frank Ruiz, Sr.

Frank Ruiz, Jr.
Lt. Colonel

Courtney Abel

Jerry Bergeron
Chief of Artillery

Ken Jansen
Chief of Cavalry

Joomla templates by Joomlashine